1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Algae Scrubber not Growing Algae

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Exclama_Remoza, Apr 11, 2016.

Welcome to Algae Scrubbing Join our community today
  1. First off, I would like to inform you that I am a novice, whose previos experience was a beta bowl in high school and goldfish tank in middle school (neither lasting over a year).

For about 5 weeks, I've ran a fish tank and algae scrubber and despite doing everything right (or so I thought), I only have a slightly brown discolored plastic canvas in my sump and up to 1.5ppm of ammonia (which I try to treat with SafeStart and other nitrifying bacteria starters but end up putting a little Prime in every day) in my fish tank. I read various websites and conducted a literature review with my university databases. I fertilized the sump tank with small amounts of additive-free concentrated ammonia solution after adding KH2PO4 and calcium carbonate buffers to the aquarium. My aquarium feeds the sump, with water leaving the sump as evaporation and entering the aquarium as tap water I treat with water conditioner and enough aquarium sea salt and calcium carbonate to make my water hard & brackish for my molly fish, which seem to enjoy themselves.

A video is worth a million words so here is one I recorded a few days ago:

Oh yeah, and my project is to build a prototype is to grow algae for use in a biogas reactor (to replace my classmate's lawn clippings) with my final report due in a week. At least it's a freshman-level chemical engineering course...

I hope to make this set-up a successful and semi-permanent fixture of the maker space room.

2. Turbo

Turbo Does not really look like Johnny Carson Staff Member Site Owner Multiple Units! Customer

A compile things:

It's a new tank, don't expect fast growth. From what you describe, you're on the right path. Leave it be and give it time