1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ATS and LPS corals keeping

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kudo, May 19, 2017.

Welcome to Algae Scrubbing Join our community today
  1. Hi everybody! First of all I would like to congratulate this great source of knowledge about algae scrubbers and thank Floyd for beeing so suportive on this subject.

The main purpose of my discussion is long story short: how to keep LPS coral healthy when using algae scrubbers.

I've recently built an ATS to improove my tank filtration and keep bubble algae and GHA, which I assume is a bryopsis or derbesia type, at bay. Before ATS I've been keeping successfully my tank for more than 6 months with only a chaeto refugium, however, bubble algae and this GHA kept growing as well as my corals. Nitrates have never been more than 5 ppm and phosfates always below 0.08 ppm - according to Red Sea Pro test kits.

After making my DIY ATS (5 square inch screen with 5 - 3W LEDs on both sides), my LPS corals are not so happy as they used to be. My war coral and a goniopora has some tissue recession, even though I'm target feedin reef roids every day. My tank has 5 fishes (2 clown fishes, 1 six-line wrasse, 1 clow goby, and 1 yellow tail damnsel) and I a lot feed them 3 times per day. The nitrate tests now always read 0ppm and phosphates are at 0.04ppm.

Did anybody has had this kind of issue?

Thanks.

2. Some additional information I forgot to mention:

- The flow on my ATS something about 1000L/h (265 gph). I have a 2.000L/h return pump and the ATS is fed by the overflow line.
    - ATS is lighted on 15h/day.
    - Soft corals and SPS corals are doing fine. Specially some zoas, GSP and a Leather coral - I don't know if its something related to daily dosing of phyto and the reef roids.
    - I use GAC and change it every other week