1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cyno-Algae Scrubber Effectivness

Discussion in 'Advanced Topics' started by Windy, Jul 28, 2015.

Welcome to Algae Scrubbing Join our community today
  1. Windy

Windy New Member

Oregon
    I have been fighting Cyno for about 2 months. My system is 2 years old, but it is a broodstock system, and I feed 5 times a day. I added a waterfall scrubber about a year ago and I have no algae problems, but cannot get rid of cyno. Most of the advice I see says reduce nutrients. How????? I thought the ATS would also help with cyno, but not so far. What have others seen or done?

2. Turbo

Turbo Does not really look like Johnny Carson Staff Member Site Owner Multiple Units! Customer

Cyano is usually the last thing to go, if it's a persistent problem, then tweaking the scrubber might be in order, as well as using another method in conjunction with the scrubber.

Before giving advice, I like to collect info about the system:

Total water volume?

Other filtration?

Nitrates?

Phosphates?

Scrubber screen size?

Lighting type/size/etc?

Scrubber lighting photoperiod?

Method of water delivery (pump, overflow, etc)?

How often do you clean the screen?

About how much algae do you collect with each cleaning?

Pic of tank, pics of scrubber, etc - as many pics as you want...they really can help

3. Windy

Windy New Member

Oregon
    You sound like my doctor, should I bend over? ;) Just gathering this information is more work than your help may justify!

Total water volume? 350 gal

Other filtration? Skimmer

Nitrates? 0.0

Phosphates? 0.0

Scrubber screen size? 9 x12

Lighting type/size/etc? Double sided 35 watts led each side. Usually run at a bout 30% intensity.

Scrubber lighting photoperiod? 12 hours

Method of water delivery (pump, overflow, etc)? System pump.

How often do you clean the screen?

About how much algae do you collect with each cleaning?

4. Turbo