1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Introduction and ATS Plans...

Discussion in 'Algae Scrubber DIY' started by sntlewis, Dec 28, 2014.

Welcome to Algae Scrubbing Join our community today
  1. sntlewis

sntlewis New Member

Ok guys, since I am relatively new here it is good form to introduce myself....

Hi, I'm Stan (now that's been done onto to more interesting things).

I have been reefing for almost 15 years or so and running fuge with macro most of the time. I spent lots of time thinking about the biological, chemical, and mechanical filtration issues of reef systems. The idea of ATS's didn't seem doable for me at the time that I put up my first reef (nor my second).

But the time is coming when I will put up a new 105 rimless, if it ever gets safely. The first one was damaged in transit by a skilled forklift operator ;-)

I am intrigued by the ATS now that LEDs are viable (still old school for DT). So I have been reading, thinking, and reading more.

And now for my plans and please feel free to comment!

Build an ATS! I understand the shortcomings of macro (caulerpa, cheto, etc). It seems to me that ATSs are more 'space efficient.'

I have a CNC router and some acrylic skills so fabrication is not a big issue. I've built most every sump I used.

What I envision is roughly a 48 sq. in, double sided screen (maybe 8" wide by 6" tall plus screen inside). Currently thinking of using a 8" heat sink with fins vertically to give me the 48 sq in light using 4 (maybe 6) 660nm deep red leds (probably steves leds) with 1-2 Royal blue on each side. The ATS will be plumbed with dedicated pump (probably mag 3 or 7 depending on flow).