1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Filtration Newby ATS DIY

Discussion in 'Algae Scrubber DIY' started by Erik737, Jul 15, 2018.

Welcome to Algae Scrubbing Join our community today
  1. Erik737

Erik737 New Member

This is my first attempt at building an ATS. The downside of most ATS imo id that cleaning the screen seems like a hasle. So I wantend to build something with an easy to clean screen.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    So far nothing out of the ordinary.

[​IMG]
    My version has 2 spraybars on the side. They do get plugged so I clean them with a toothbrush whenever I clean the screen.

[​IMG]
    The screen fits in the middle so it’s easy to remove for cleaning or getting some algea for my docters.

[​IMG]
    This is the setup in the sump.

[​IMG]
    The screen is 13x27cm and is lit from two sides, each side is equipped with 8x 2w 660nm LED’s 18hr per day.
    Water supply comes from a take-off from the overflow.

[​IMG]
    One week of algea growth.
    I feed one cube per day and the ATS has been running for six months now.

2. Turbo

Turbo Does not really look like Johnny Carson Staff Member Site Owner Multiple Units! Customer

Looks good! I've seen several versions of scrubbers built like this, one was a commercially available unit at least for a while (not sure if it's still being built) but it had the screen attached to the lid just like yours.

Thanks for posting, great build! Keep the pics and updates coming!

3. Adobo_Reef

Adobo_Reef New Member

I would love to see this design on my Reefer 170. How thick is the sheet?

4. Erik737

Erik737 New Member

The sheet is 4mm perspex.

5. Erik737

Erik737 New Member

I’ve been running this scrubber since march last year and so far I’ve been happy about the results.
    Phosphates and nitrates have always been close to zero and corals are growing fine.
    [​IMG]