1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running other reactors with ats

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pcezar925, May 23, 2015.

Welcome to Algae Scrubbing Join our community today
  1. pcezar925

pcezar925 New Member

Hey guys I'm new to ats, but a lot of other reefers from my group say that u shouldn't run bio pellets and ats together? Of course they don't use ats themselves. Do u guys use both? Can gfo be used as well?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Turbo

Turbo Does not really look like Johnny Carson Staff Member Site Owner Multiple Units! Customer

I've heard that too on other forums, but I don't know of any hard evidence to show this. I think I read a thread on The Reef Tank to the effect of BP and Algae Scrubbers being a "recipe for disaster". The guys on TRT are pretty down on scrubbers though, and I doubt any of them have tried BP + Algae Scrubber.

What I can tell you is that the people who have told me that they run Algae Scrubbers + Biopellets have some of the best scrubber growth I've seen.

Biopellets are a carbon source for bacteria. Algae mats have dynamic surface area by nature - the surface are grows as the algae mass grows. Bacteria populate on all surfaces of the system, and algae in the scrubber is no exception. So when you export the algae, you will also by nature export some bacteria.

This is a somewhat parallel/similar concept to Zeovit in a way, in that you shake the Zeo to break the biofilms and create new surface area for bacteria to populate (that is not by experience, that's just what I've been told)

I think that the concern is that there are sugars (carbons) that algae exudates and this can be a source of food for bacteria, so if you are running both, you can have issue with bacterial population explosion. The same thing might happen if you run a huge amount of biopellets right from the get-go