1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lighting Solder for diy led

Discussion in 'General Aquarium Discussion' started by crashmushroom, Dec 18, 2012.

Welcome to Algae Scrubbing Join our community today
  1. crashmushroom

crashmushroom Member Customer

Well i ordered some leds to add to my diy rig but this time they have to be soldered unlike my current rig which is solderless. Can you help me i made a mess of it its my first time soldering small things and im not sure if i have the right solder and also what temp the iron should be at? I would be ashamed to post pics of what i did :)

P.s sorry if its in the wrong forum please move it if it is floyd.

2. Turbo

Turbo Does not really look like Johnny Carson Staff Member Site Owner Multiple Units! Customer

Well here is a crash course (no pun intended) on soldering LEDs.

Basic things I do:

Solder should be lead solder, rosin core, 60/40 (some use 63/37 which is made for electronics) and small (0.032" diameter).

I have a 50 watt adjustable iron which I set to about 35 watts when doing soldering, 50W initially until it can melt solder. When starting, let it heat up and tin the tip right when it gets hot enough to melt it, then use a sponge to wipe off excess. What I do is give the iron a flick towards the floor of the garage to get excess solder off the tip then wipe on the sponge (not a lot, just need to get the excess off, but mainly the rosin). I do this "flick" very often, wipe on sponge less often, I end up with a mess of solder blobs on the floor but it works for me.