1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Water Clarity

Discussion in 'Advanced Topics' started by Garf, Aug 18, 2013.

Welcome to Algae Scrubbing Join our community today
  1. Garf

Garf Member Trusted Member

I've been running without skimmer or carbon now for a couple of months. I've only got the aerated waterfall and b.a.d.a.s.s. going. Now, I would expect some discolouration of the water (as I've experienced previously). However this is now not the case. My water has never been clearer. Curious to hear other folks experience regarding clarity and views as to if it's good or bad in their opinion.

2. Turbo

Turbo Does not really look like Johnny Carson Staff Member Site Owner Multiple Units! Customer

I think clarity of water is most of the times just a general perception by the eye. The "purists" would argue that in order to make a definitive comparison between clarity of water at different points in time or in different tanks, you have to take a picture of a reference object (like a white cutting board) through the tank with the same conditions (light, flash, f-stop camera settings, etc) and then make the comparison.

There unfortunately is no "color of water" meter that works for SW. Hanna does make one, but it is for turbidity of runoff water for streams, rivers, construction site runoff, etc (I tried it).

So we are left with rather rudimentary techniques. One thing you can do it find a 5 gallon white bucket and pull a few gallons into it and compare that to a bucket with freshly mixed SW in it. Then take pics with same ambient light and camera settings, etc.

3. Ricky

Ricky Member Trusted Member Multiple Units! Customer

My ran scrubber only for a year. Wasn't till last like three months that I started seeing my water turn yellow.

It was very gradual for me. But it wasn't til I added the carbon that I noticed it.